Government Announces New UK Travel Corridors

The Transport Secretary, Grant Shapps, has today announced details of new travel corridors, setting out countries British travellers will be allowed to visit without being subject to the 14 day quarantine on their return. The Foreign Office is also updating its travel advice for these locations from Saturday, 4th July.

Dr Ben Spencer welcomed the announcements, having previously called for international agreements to replace the 14 day quarantine period, to support the aviation sector and our economic recovery. He said:

“I am delighted that today’s announcement means more UK travellers will be able to enjoy a holiday this year, and we will get more planes flying again.  Adopting these measures to reduce restrictions while controlling the risks is an important step on our road to recovery, for the aviation sector especially, but also the country as a whole.”

The locations where restrictions will be eased include France, Spain and Germany, as well as many other countries from Europe, the Caribbean, and some from Asia and Australasia. 59 countries in total are listed. Full details are available here.

This announcement follows a risk assessment conducted by the Joint Biosecurity Centre, in close consultation with Public Health England and the Chief Medical Officer. The assessment draws on a range of factors including the prevalence of coronavirus, the numbers of new cases and potential trajectory of the disease in that destination. The Government has highlighted that this will be kept under review and can be revoked if risks increase. Passengers will still be required to wear face coverings and provide contact information on arrival in the UK.

Dr Spencer will continue to push for international agreements on safety standards for air travel, a widening of travel corridors where appropriate, and will work with colleagues in Parliament to look at what reforms may be needed in light of the changes to the sector following the crisis.